Saturday, January 24, 2009

Improve Your Life With Chakra Color Therapy

By Jonathan Benjem

Its a traditional knowledge that human body contains a reservoir of energy deep within. The highly evolved souls propagate harnessing this energy in order to create the ideal living conditions in and around us. They abjure the idea of external help to restore normal body functioning. The theory that gained ground was Chakra balancing, i.e., synchronized movement of seven primary energy centers within the body, to improve all aspects of life (spiritual, emotional, and physical).

These seven Chakras each have a distinct color associated with them, which governs its movement " balanced or imbalanced. If there is an imbalance, you can correct it by employing Chakra Color Therapy to the relevant imbalanced Chakra.

Before discussing about the Chakra Color Therapy, a brief description of the primary chakras and their associated colors wont be out of place:

1. The Base Chakra (Muladhara) is situated at the coccyx (base of the spine). This first chakra is associated with our very basic survival needs, courage, and vitality. The color associated with this chakra is Red. The attributes of Red color for the body includes vitality and energy provider on all levels.

2. The Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana) is situated in the lower abdomen. This second chakra is associated with second basic needs, i.e., our sexual drive and emotions. The color associated with this chakra is Orange. The attributes of Orange color for the body includes conviction in ones actions and the art of thinking independently.

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) is situated in the stomach region. This third chakra is associated with lending power, will and identity to the individual. The color associated with this chakra is Yellow. The attributes of Yellow color for the body include thought clarity and self-worthiness.

4. The Heart Chakra, or Anahata, is located in the center of the chest. This chakra is associated with love, compassion, and self-expression. The associated color is Green, which is known for its qualities of intimacy and forgiveness.

5. The Throat Chakra, or Vishuddha, is located in the throat area. This chakra is associated with expression and communication. The associated color is Blue, which is known for its qualities of clarity in communicating the feelings with others, self-identification, and creativity.

6. The Brow Chakra (or Ajna), situated between the brows on the forehead, is associated with perception, intuition, and imagination. Indigo is the color associated with this chakra, which empowers the body with qualities, like visualization, understanding, and clear vision.

7. The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) is situated on top of the head. This seventh chakra is associated with knowledge and wisdom. The color associated with this Chakra is Violet. The attributes of Violet color for the body includes spiritual awareness and self-knowledge.

Quite simply, Chakra Color Therapy refers to simple exercises that use the relevant colors to correct the movement of imbalanced chakras. But, before you employ Chakra Color Therapy to treat the imbalance, its vital to know which chakra or chakras is/are affected in the body.

For the very first step, you can simply lie down, relax, and mull over all the events in the day in any order that is convenient to you. The experience of emotions related to each event will tell you the affected chakra. After identifying the problem chakra, its time for Color Breathing. Its simple. Take all the seven colored cloth swatches besides you. Put the relevant colored cloth on the body part, which is represented by the affected chakra. Lie down, close your eyes, relax, take deep breaths, and simply visualize the absorption of the color by the affected body part for 5-10 minutes. Repeat this exercise if there are more affected chakras in the body.

Chakra Color Therapy is a healthy option for maintenance of chakra balance. For daily maintenance, just lie down and repeat the above process by placing the relevant colored swatches on the relevant body parts. 5-10 minutes should be sufficient to recharge your chakras and correct the imbalanced ones to give you a better life free of physical, emotional or spiritual ailment.

About the Author:

No comments: