Saturday, December 26, 2009

Chakra Therapy And Chakra Meditation

By Nisal Karuiyaratna

The chakras (the word literally means energy wheels) are lined up along the center line, or meridian, of a person's body according to ancient Vedic thought.

Certain mystical practitioners even believe the number of these wheels to be fourteen.

Beginning at the base (believed to be either the bottom end of the spine or the genitals) they go right up to the top of the head, the crown.

In between are the orange colored chakra situated in the stomach area, the yellow colored chakra known as the solar plexus just above this, the green colored chakra in the heart region, the blue colored throat chakra, the indigo colored chakra in the center of the forehead known as the third eye. The root chakra is colored red with the crown chakra thought of as being violet in color.

The numbering of these chakras 1 to 7 begins at the base of the spine, which is chakra number one. This numbering coincides with the spectrum along the wavelength of light.

The first of these chakras is responsible for our vitality, sexual and physical health.

Chakra two rules a person's creative powers.

The third commands the power of our will and desires.

Chakra four at the heart commands our emotional energy that opens us up to giving and receiving love.

The fifth chakra gives us communicative power, loops our emotions in with our thinking, and gives us personal magnetism.

Chakra six influences a person's intuition, psychic powers and insights, also referred to as the sixth sense.

The final chakra, number seven located at the crown of the head is what is responsible for our astral voyages.

When people feel they are connecting directly with God, they are focusing the energies of their seventh, purple-white, crown chakra.

The chakra wheels naturally want to spin. If they are healthy and clean, they are spinning, and then they are providing you with the strongest, healthiest energies you can have. But if they become clogged, then they cannot spin and you will have problems or sickness in one or more of the areas outlined.

It is also important that each chakra is equal in its development to the others. If one of these is over-developed then an addiction, neuroses or OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder) may result.

Chakras can become unbalanced or clogged as a result of neglect or bad lifestyle. If your diet is bad, or you have a negative attitude toward sexual relations you will have problems with your first or root/base chakra. This is likely to lead to ill health and broken or difficult relationships.

If you start dabbling in things like black magic or even destructive negative thoughts about other people you are likely to unbalance or clog up the seventh crown chakra which will mean you are unable to connect with the higher cosmos and you are left feeling totally empty and fearful.

A freely spinning energy wheel will be characteristically flexible. The human mind has the power to receive good vibes and ward off bad and negative ones. It is just like a hand, which can open and close when required but if broken, it will not function. Similarly a healthy chakra will open and close as per the vibes it encounters.

Chakra therapy means basically that you focus your attention and concentration on each of the seven main chakras in turn. This should really be done on a daily basis.

When you meditate, you will be able to pinpoint the chakra that requires cleansing. Thereafter just concentrate on making that energy category strong so that the energies are restored to their healthiest best.

It is also observed that when some persons meditate on a gemstone of the same color as the chakras, their concentration is very high. They are able to focus better and can obtain an insight into the path for cleansing their chakras and make them healthier.

Many people find that the simplest way is to listen to the frequencies of each chakra in turn which results in your own chakras resonating with these frequencies, which then results in them becoming completely balanced.

About the Author:

No comments: